BME/CENG/ELEC/SENG 499
Design Project

 

BME499/CENG499/ELEC499/SENG499

List of 499 Projects for Summer 2017

Coordinator: T.Ilamparithi, email: ilampari@uvic.ca
Revised: April 27, 2017

Please note:
This page represents the most current information available.
It has been posted for you to have a preview of the final document.
Any project selection should be made with the approval of the project supervisor and the course coordinator.


Term 4A: May - August 2017


Students are strongly encouraged to select a project originating from the Industry or external organizations. An extensive directory of local industry can be found under: http://www.viatec.ca/BusinessDirectory.aspx.

Project and team selection must be finalized BEFORE the end the first week of classes of each term. Normal team size is 4 or 5 students per group. Use UVic electronic board: https://coursespaces.uvic.ca/login/index.php for other communications.


Projects Available

  1. Pre-Approved CENG/ELEC/SENG Projects proposed and supervised by faculty members
  2. Project Proposed by external organizations/persons
  3. BME projects - BME students can select one of these projects. These project are only available to BME students.


Pre-Approved CENG/ELEC/SENG Projects proposed and supervised by faculty members

(Note: Some projects have not been updated recently. Please contact supervisor for the updates.)

Supervisor: Michael Adams, frodo@ece.uvic.ca

I am willing to supervise projects in any of the following areas:

  • digital signal processing,
  • digital geometry processing,
  • multimedia systems,
  • data compression,
  • computer graphics,
  • geometric modelling, and
  • software development in the C++ or C programming language.

Students are encouraged to propose their own projects. Some examples of possible projects can be found at:

http://www.ece.uvic.ca/~frodo/courses/ece499/
Please contact me for more details.


Supervisor: Pan Agathoklis, panagath@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Amirali Baniasadi, amiralib@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Ashoka Bhat, abhat@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Jens Bornemann, jbornema@ece.uvic.ca

I am interested in supervising projects on applications of wireless microwave links and/or antennas. Some of the projects I have supervised are: "Reconfigurable Patch Antenna", "EM Level Sensor", "Man Overboard System", "Automated Brewing Solution".

  • JB1 Contact Supervisor
  • JB2 Contact Supervisor

Supervisor: Alexandra Branzan Albu, aalbu@ece.uvic.ca

I am interested in supervising projects involving human motion analysis from video sequences. The database for such projects is already in place.


Supervisor: Lin Cai, cai@ece.uvic.ca

I am willing to supervise any project related to wireless networking. The projects will be conducted in groups of 2-4 persons. Prerequisites include basic knowledge of computer networks. For details please contact me.


Supervisors: Thomas Darcie and Stephen Neville
Entrepreneurship Projects 1 - 7
We are in the process of expanding Entrepreneurship@UVic to get undergraduate students engaged in learning about entrepreneurship.


Supervisor: Nikitas Dimopoulos, nikitas@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Xiaodai Dong, xdong@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Peter Driessen, peterd@ece.uvic.ca

I am willing to supervise projects related to Sound Recording, Audio Signal Processing, Computer Music, Amateur Radio, Software Defined Radio, Example projects can be found at http://www.ece.uvic.ca/~peterd/499/499index.html


Supervisor: Fayez Gebali, fayez@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Daniel German, dmg@uvic.ca


Supervisor: Reuven Gordon, rgordon@ece.uvic.ca

Interested in supervising projects related to optics and photonics. Example past projects I have supervised: "IR laser pointer mouse", "Solar energy concentrators". Potential future projects: "Ultrafast optical autocorrelator for measuring femtosecond pulses", "High speed, low noise data acquisition of optical signal". Contact Dr. Gordon early in the term for further details.


Supervisor: Aaron Gulliver, agullive@ece.uvic.ca

  • AG1 Contact Supervisor
  • AG2 Contact Supervisor

Supervisor: Rishi Gupta, guptar@uvic.ca


Supervisor: Paul Kraeutner, pkraeutner@shaw.ca


Supervisor: Harry Kwok, hlkwok@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Kin F. Li, kinli@uvic.ca


Supervisor: W.S. Lu, wslu@ece.uvic.ca (Dec. 2002)


Supervisor: Eric Manning, emanning@engr.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Michael McGuire, mmcguire@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Stephen Neville, sneville@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: J. Pan, CSc, Pan@UVic.CA

I am willing to supervise student projects in the area of computer networks and distributed systems. Students are encouraged to propose their own projects, and some of the possible projects are listed below and constantly updated at http://www.cs.uvic.ca/~pan/usra


Supervisor: Chris Papadopoulos, papadop@ece.uvic.ca

  • CP 1 Contact Supervisor
  • CP 2 Contact Supervisor

Supervisor: Daler Rakhmatov, daler@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Mihai Sima, msima@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Poman P.M. So, poman@ece.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Alex Thomo, thomo@uvic.ca

Supervisor: Issa Traoré, itraore@ece.uvic.ca

Various projects related to design and implementation of computer and network solutions such as intrusion detection systems (IDS), identity fraud detectors, biometrics technologies etc.

For more details see: http://www.isot.ece.uvic.ca

  • IT1 Contact Supervisor
  • IT2 Contact Supervisor

Supervisor: George Tzanetakis, gtzan@cs.uvic.ca


Supervisor: Jens Weber, jens@uvic.ca


Supervisor: Peter Wild, pwild@uvic.ca


Supervisor: K. Wu, CSc, wkui@uvic.ca


Supervisor: Hong-Chuan Yang, hy@ece.uvic.ca

I am willing to supervise other projects related to wireless and mobile communications. The following suggested topics involve the simulation study of core techniques for next generation cellular systems -3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE). The projects will be conducted in groups of 2-4 persons. Prerequisites include ELEC 456. Contact me for details.



Project Proposed by external organizations/persons


If you are interested in one of these projects, email the course coordinator for contact information.

Sponsor: AXYS Technologies Inc.

Sponsor: CanAssist

Sponsor: Cooler Heads Safety

Sponsor: Ocean Networks Canada


Sponsor: ECE Technical Staff


BME students can select one of these projects. These projects are only available to BME students.


BME Design Project 1: Use of 3D Printing for Building Implants for Facial Reconstruction

BME Design Project 2: Design of Jawbone Support Implants

BME Design Project 3: Design of Novel Scoliosis Brace using 3D Printing and 3D Scanning